eightfold path

The Noble Eightfold Path, by Bhikkhu Bodhi, describes the way to the end of suffering, as it was laid out by the Buddha. It is a practical guideline that will lead its practitioner towards self-awakening.

The eight elements are divided into three basic categories as follows:

Path Category
1 Right view Wisdom (Pali: pañña)
2 Right intention
3 Right speech Ethical conduct (Pali: sila)
4 Right action
5 Right livelihood
6 Right effort Mental discipline (Pali: samadhi)
7 Right mindfulness
8 Right concentration

In all of the elements of the Noble Eightfold Path, the word "right" is a translation of the word samma (Pali), which denotes completion, togetherness, and coherence. Though the path is numbered one through eight, it is generally not considered to be a series of linear steps through which one must progress; rather, the eight elements of the Noble Eightfold Path are to be developed more or less simultaneously, as far as possible according to the capacity of each individual. They are all linked together and each helps the cultivation of the others.